Political Party Narcissism

Political parties are so polarized now days that, in my opinion, their own needs seem more important than the benefit of the nation they are part of. Most people I listen to when they talk about controversial issues do so under the banner of their own political affiliation. Not only do they speak with the same taglines that are trademarks of their organizations, but they also mention proudly what his or her party is valiantly doing to further benefits that will support their particular interest. How about dropping the platform political party members carry and simply focus on an issue for the way it directly affect ones own local environment and not an imaginary perception of how this issues affect everyone else.

I’m not affiliated to any political party, I never have. Since the moment I became aware of the primary distinctions between them, I thought they would try to control the way I felt about issues that I cared about. It seemed to me that if you disagreed with the position your party took in an item of serious debate, it would mark you as a trouble maker, a dissident that was best kept quiet less he or she would contaminate the unity in their ranks. I never joined any of them.

I believe that a great number of people who belong to a party, whether Democrat or Republican, do so because it is a tradition in their families to do so. The problem I see is that along with a de facto acceptance into the ranks of their political group, there is a disgraceful apathy to find out exactly what the impact of their “voice” has. I’ve heard many people voting exactly as their party suggested without question. There have been times when friends of mine lament that their party doesn’t have good candidates, but they don’t see a better choice than to take votes away from the “enemy” groups. Seriously, think about it for a moment and if you don’t like the candidates, vote NO.

My particular peeve with political affiliations is that as a national organization, their influence affects everyone. Whichever party controls the tide of policy making, they assume that the “benefit’ of said policies applies to all individuals whether their local conditions need it or not. In my little community we have a traditional school year, it runs from the beginning of September to the middle of June, but we are now feeling the pressure, by way of repeated surveys, to change the school calendar to match the rest of the state which runs one month ahead of us. Also, why are we being so intensely brainwashed about the benefits of Common Core standards? Our small school district is being overly accommodating to parents that want to know all the facts about its implementation. Translation: we like what we have, it works just fine and no matter how many times a week you remind us in your automated phone messages, we are not interested, stop calling me about it.

I understand that the intention individuals have in unity is to advance poor conditions for the betterment of those who are at a disadvantage. However, along with political correctness, our nation is being slowly devastated by something like an autoimmune syndrome. Really necessary antibodies, that are supposed to heal our body, end up running amuck creating unending failures instead. Similarly, there are a great number of good intentioned individuals that give everything they have for the benefit of our country Never the less, in par with the stereotypical concept that the IQ of the masses is equal to the lowest common denominator, their affiliation with such entities slowly dissolves their extraordinary ideas into a pool of generic and harmless notions. The never ending hunger that big organizations have for control of policy overshadows individual and local needs.

As poorly as I have described my frustration with my own perceptions of political antics, I would like to give those of you who are still reading this a challenge. Ask yourself why are you supporting the political party you belong to? Are your convictions the result of a deep seeded belief, or are they the result of convenience and apathy? If your answer leans towards the later, please refrain from sheepishly doing what your party tells you to do.

 

This post was inspired by Harsh reality’s opinion challenge.

5 thoughts on “Political Party Narcissism

  1. Interesting take. I am registered as an independent, and although I am what most would call a liberal, I vote for individual candidates and on specific issues as my conscious dictates, not along party lines.

    But as I read this, I thought one could easily substitute the words religious affiliation with political party affiliation. Pretty much everything you wrote applies equally to religion as it does to politics.

    Like

    • I agree. To a point I guess it serves a purpose to learn one side of the issue, but as soon as you start asking questions, there should be support for in depth learning. if what you teach is truthful, you shouldn’t fear questions or disagreements.

      Like

Leave a Reply

