Got Apprehension?

I found this through sleepykitten, thank you.

 

Trying to control emotions is like trying to stop ocean waves from breaking at the surface of a sandy beach. However, even though you may not be able to detain them, there are several things you can do to minimize the impact a surge of feelings will have in your daily life. Mostly, however, I find that the difficult part lies in being able to control the way you respond to these emotions and personally, the hardest thing for me to control is the way I show apprehension when people get close to me and invade my space bubble.

“Run!” The little voices say. “Shhhh, It’s just a hug, harmless” I sooth their fears. “Don’t let them touch us, run!” they panic. “Shhhhhtop, I will protect you, be still”.

 

This little dialog repeats every time I see a hug loving individual. Don’t tell me you don’t know who they are. I first try to skirt their advances when they approach, but ever resourceful, they thwart any obstacle with great ease. I figure that at some point the idea would get through, but in their optimism, they figure that I will get used to it. I’ve taken to learn useful techniques from real experts, but I must wait until I master these new moves because if I fail, it would only increase my aggravation.

 

I have to pretend that I’ve joined their ranks because it’s easier on me, my reluctant little voices and definitely my reputation. Acting like a feral child would not only clear my social calendar, but it would brand me an uncivilized person and we can’t have that. I would hate to be a study case for urban anthropology majors. They don’t pay you a dime, you know (yes, been there, done that, don’t want to talk about it).

 

Answer to the Daily Prompt

4 thoughts on “Got Apprehension?

Leave a Reply

