Hotel Transylvania

Blinding Judgment

Does it ever make sense to judge a book by its cover — literally or metaphorically? Tell us about a time you did, and whether that was a good decision or not.

 

It is human nature to judge a book by its cover. Speaking metaphorically, our appeal for what we see first is a good part of what determines whether we want something or not. That was the case when I first saw the advertisements for the kid’s movie Hotel Transylvania. At first glance, It seemed to me not only an inappropriate topic for children to relate to, but I thought that viewing vampires in a friendly kid’s accessible way was a morbid new plot from Hollywood to introduce young minds into dark and evil themes.

hotetransylvania

I could not have been more wrong. I have a fascination with vampire lore. As such, I’ve been exposed to a great number of violent, and evil stories that would make my skin curl to remember. For that matter, the same goes for witches, ghosts and other legendary monsters, however, the only characters I objected to were the vampires for kids.

My older daughters insisted that I go watch the movie and with great reluctance I agreed after trusting that their approval of the movie in general was based on the same family oriented teachings that I inculcated in them.

Hotel Transylvania turned out to be the most adorable kid’s movie ever. There is a lighthearted appeal to all the characters. I found most appealing that the vampire stereotypes I objected to were translated into a human weakness in one way or another, like allergies to garlic and as Dracula mention himself when asked if he would died when a stake pierce his heart, he said “Well, who wouldn’t?”

All in all, Hotel Transylvania turned out to be one of my favorite kid’s movies to date. Many people were put off by the casting of Adam Sandler in the lead voice, but I couldn’t tell, in fact, I didn’t find out it was him until I looked at the credits at the end of the movie.

We may not be able to stop judging books by their cover, but we could make way for a little skepticism. Given the chance, we may find something remarkable if not just appealing.

 

3 thoughts on “Hotel Transylvania

  1. I totally agree with you. My friend gave me this movie and somehow it put me off and I had no intention of watching it. Later one day as I had nothing to do, I played it and gosh, it was really adorable! I regretted having it with me for 3 months, yet not watching it!!! Lovely post 🙂

    Like

    • Three months? I regretted not being there on opening day, I feel your pain! lol
      Funny thing is that of the people I recommend it to, all I get is an incredulous look. Later they come back with the same reaction I got.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

