I was Dr Who

 

 

Written by Margarita Morgan

June 20, 2014

drwhoteapot

One of the best dream I have ever had involved the next reincarnation of Dr Who which happened to be me. In my dream, I was the Dr’s faithful companion until a fateful encounter forced him to regenerate. Due to obscure circumstances, the Dr was forced to pass on all of his knowledge into my own brain and thus I became the next incarnation of the famous time and space traveler.

One of the strange things about this dream was that I was aware of the TV production being filmed. I recall how exited I was when the producers told me the role would be mine next. We had finished filming the season finale and it was a surprise to everyone that a last minute script change made Dr Who injured in such a way he had to regenerate. The realism of the dream focused on the part of the TV show that brings new adventures and real danger to the characters. At that moment I realized that there were no special effects, everything that happened in the show was real and I was suddenly afraid to die since eventually I would have to pass the torch to the next guy. Enough of the danger was real, but even so, I was still excited to take part in such a prominent way on what is one of the most popular television stories of all time.

I woke up that day feeling great. My dream had truly followed a coherent timeline and even with the elements of fantasy, this dream was incredibly clear. Now, if you take into account that I’m not particularly fond of the show. . . Gasp! Yes, I said that out loud. . .it is the weirdest dream ever. I’ve tried to get into the Dr Who geekdom, but the attraction eludes me. In any case, taking into account that I’m not even a fan, I’m pretty sure that my psyche was aching to belong to this fandom and made me cherish the dream in a way I could really appreciate.

Indeed, I enjoyed the feeling and memories of this most unusual dream. I think that even as I enjoyed to be part of Dr. Who’s history, that perfect dream should have belonged to someone else. I think that a more faithful fan should have been rewarded with such an incredible feeling of awe and realism. I’m not complaining, though. Not everyone gets to be the Dr and rather that being a fan, I enjoyed what it seemed to me a great real life adventure.

=)

 

Today’s inspiration for this post came from The Daily Prompt,

Freudian Flips

Do you remember a recent dream you had? Or an older one that stayed vivid in your mind? Today, you’re your own Freud: Tell us the dream, then interpret it for us! Feel free to be as serious or humorous as you see fit, or to invent a dream if you can’t remember a real one.

 

 

7 thoughts on “I was Dr Who

Leave a Reply

