Creature of Winter

Written by margarita Morgan

June 21, 2014

 

While I don’t particularly yearn for earlier sunsets, as the summer solstice passes, I count the days for Fall and Winter to set upon our landscapes. When rain graces us with an abundance of its presence, my spirit thrives and I would walk with a sense of comfort if there was fog to guard my presence. Cold and darkness are in my nature, I am a creature of winter.

During Spring days when summer heat visits to announce its impending arrival, I dread the months ahead when I’ll be forced to be under the protection of climate control to alleviate a feeling of suffocation. There is nothing more frustrating to me than experiencing a wave of heat that is unrelenting and to which relief comes in the form of constant air conditioning. With no way to be outdoors under such circumstances, Dusk is my safe zone, but it arrives at a time of day when I’m getting ready to go to bed.

On the other hand, when the end of the year approaches, I open windows early in the morning to let cold, fresh air inundate the atmosphere. I like to put on a light sweater and now a scarf, to stall the effects of asthma, while I go about my business of watering my plants and walking around for a little exercise. Having a heater warm the house when cold is a nice and comfortable commodity, but I love to randomly open windows and doors to let a rush of cold air in to reinvigorate my spirits with a crisp jolt.

As the days get shorter, dusk arrives at a time when I can actually observe and enjoy sunsets. There is a comfortable air of joviality when we sit outside with friends and enjoy a conversation accompanied by a warm cup of tea, hot chocolate or coffee. Lighted by a string of Christmas lights, our little porch becomes a comfortable sitting room that provides many days full of stories and great conversations.

The longest day of the year, June 21 marks, for me the beginning of a journey back into winter. Although many hot days away, I tent to view this day with sense of forward expectation to the time of year when the seasons will bring air, cold and water back into play, a time when I can go out and play in my element of cold and dark days.

=)

 

 

Set for Solstice

Today’s Summer Solstice, the longest day of the year (in the Northern Hemisphere). How are you taking advantage of the extra hours of light this time of year? Do you like it, or do you already miss earlier sunsets?

 

 

5 thoughts on “Creature of Winter

  1. I also like winter but you are a big fan of it. Bingo.
    Looks like you remain at home so you feel that much about the tiny details winter or summer brings. Anyways I liked your observation. You have a good to see and a beautiful heart to feel things.. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

