Take the Plunge

Written by Margarita Morgan

June 28, 2014

 

When it comes to classifying the kind of writing I do in categories of what is best and what’s not, I’m afraid that I’m quite subjective and cannot dismiss a piece as a bad composition. No, I’m neither proud nor self indulgent, simply I feel pain for the little voice in me that came up with it and for my life I do not want to deal with the drama that would surely ensue if I offended any of these little creatures.

In that context, I can definitely tell you about the only writing that gets published and what makes it easier for me to write. As far as the conditions that help me write are concern, the only thing that I need is to start typing in a new document page. Sometimes I have a piece in my journal that would nicely fit a daily prompt. Most of the time, however, I just get a new page to open and start writing nonsense until one sentence agrees with my overall thoughts and then I build from there.

You can tell when my mind is muddy because my composition is clear and concise due to the fact than a divine and merciful god of writing decided to channel my index finger typewriting to promote a universal thought of goodness and kindness. However, you can tell when I’m in control of my faculties because my writing becomes a little muddy and it is sprinkled with random thoughts from my very own little voices. Either way, the purpose is to write and to no avail I could possibly contain when my mind just wants to burst out and share.

I’ve recently been acquainted with wordpress.com’s own Android application and it is also a great way to get started particularly if I’m on the go. My favorite is the “quickoffice” application on my phone that lets me dictate into a new document considerably cutting down on the time I get the work done, after which I email it to my own editor program and it’s all done. Yes, I have an editor program, writing like this doesn’t usually come in my nature, you know (she winks).

So there you go, when it comes to publishing the things that I write, the best conditions for me is to just take the plunge and get it started. Now all I have to do is loose the fear of the realizing my long term goal and actually get started with writing the book that’s been churning in my head for a long time. Little steps, though, the Daily Prompt for now is just what keeps me motivated and not at all overwhelmed.

=)

 

Daily Prompt:

Writing Space
Where do you produce your best writing — at your desk, on your phone, at a noisy café? Tell us how the environment affects your creativity.

4 thoughts on “Take the Plunge

  1. Me too! I’m gonna kick my fear of writing in the keaster! I have some awesome voices, some of them not so little, I really like them all even if they muddy the waters of my mental clarity. I call one of my distractions the “dirty old man” or “George Carlin.” I should let George write a blog…OMG, that’s a great idea!

    Like

    • whoa! I love the eloquence of such a casual reply, you have some great potential there! However, should I even ask what Mr. Carlin is all about? lmao

      I’ve thought about making other blogs with a specific purpose for one some of those not so little voices as you point out. I think you should make posts under that pseudo name and write with the voice of that dirty old man. To tell you the truth, I’m a little scared I’m going to like it. lol

      Like

      • The only thing to be scared of with this dirty old man is you might pee your pants laughing too hard 😉 Good idea about making another blog for my ideas. I think that’s what those voices are, ideas wanting to take birth. Thank you for being so positive about my writing. I really need that and I will support you in kind. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

