My Own Cello

Written by TyroCharm
July 3, 2014

thunderstruckcello2

 

Dear Diary,
Another day goes by and my heart still yearns for the tender touch of acceptance. I heard its sorrowful sound and was powerless to sooth its cry. I was called upon its dark nature to immerse my senses in its passionate expression, yet, a tone of powerful calm held my faculties with blissful attention.

Today I almost touched it. I nearly held a cello in my arms, but I was afraid to disturb its perfect image in my mind with a note of reality that might have destroyed our unspoken mutual expectations. The grand cello I love plays for me with perfect clarity and I listen, I appreciate, I dream.

I long to wield an instrument that could sing through mournful sounds with peaceful and reassuring notes that become a pleasant melody. I want to be the one who brings an unexpected baritone hero out of the background of a bass ensemble that is mostly unnoticed, but instead, I listen, I appreciate, I dream.

Tomorrow perhaps, I will have the courage to approach it, to introduce myself, to surrender my fears in its unconditional acceptance of my desires; but in turn, I will have to detach myself from the perfect balance between its current master and their melodic relationship that captivates my attention.

Today, today I long for my own cello.

=)

 

Daily Prompt:

Strike a Chord
Do you play an instrument? Is there a musical instrument whose sound you find particularly pleasing? Tell us a story about your experience or relationship with an instrument of your choice.

6 thoughts on “My Own Cello

  1. The cello is a pretty interesting instrument. I play violin, and I felt much like you do before I eventually just picked one up. I haven’t looked back since. I’m not saying I’m the best…but it is fun to have. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Not only do I love the sound, but I have this platonic love affair with the instrument itself. lol
      It has a haunting tone that just. . . .completes me, I guess. The bad part about my love for the cello is that I don’t have the fingers for it. My pinky finger bends in towards the other fingers and it is incapable of holding strings. I’ve tried. Oh well! All good though. it takes a commitment to learn and be good that I also lack. I prefer to listen.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, I was floored by that performance because it was the first time I heard contemporary music with a concert arrangement. Yes, i guess I’m a little sheltered. lol I envy you guys that can play string music instruments, It is an incredible skill to have under you’re belt. Thank you for visiting and for your awesome words of encouragement.
      =)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

