Unintended Words

Written by Margarita Morgan
July 16, 2014

 

deviantart.com

deviantart.com

As tempting as it may seem at first, I would not take the offer to have the power of knowing what people are thinking when I’m talking to them. The measure of our personality is a combination of actions that reflect decisions we make. If we behaved impulsively, we would probably turned out be nothing more that feral creatures or at best, a version of a grown up spoiled child. In the same way, our thoughts may be random and violent at times, but as sentient creatures we are able to determine how we should respond and what things we should say instead.

While our thought may still be in conflict, we manage to do and say the appropriate thing, well, most of the time anyway. I can’t imagine what it would be like if I could hear the true feelings of someone who is making an effort to be civil and helpful when I’m having a menopausal moment, for that matter, can you imagine what it would be like if someone could hear what I’m thinking through that particular time? Goodness! I would be thrown in jail or at least in a mental institution for potentially psychopathic tendencies.

I wouldn’t want to hear the thoughts on someone that is trying to be nice to me when my actions have landed me in a mortifying situation. It would be devastating if the little voices in my head, that are already berating me for my stupidity, would be validated by other people’s thoughts despite of how comforting their words may sound. Yesterday for example, I insulted a wonderful new friend I made here at wordpress. I acted impulsively trying to answer a comment on the run and didn’t even realize who I was talking to. While the response I got was kind and civil, I would not wan to hear the thoughts of condemnation that I dutifully deserve for being so insensitive. While it may be true that saying the wrong thing is a recurring thing for me, in no way I meant to offend my new friend or seem like a total jerk for promoting another one of my posts while totally ignoring who I was talking to.

Call me old fashion, but another thing that would make me decline the offer would be that, in my opinion, people’s thoughts should be private. I would consider reading their thought a total breach of trust. Also, can you imagine keeping a secret like that that all to yourself forever? Of course you would have to keep it a secret. The moment people find out about your new ability your list of friends would clear in a second, particularly that first individual you told the secret to.

On a lighter note, it would be fun to catch cheaters and thieves. I would want to know the truth about those high profile court cases that were a circus on the media in recent years. It would certainly be helpful to determine who is a terrorist or who plans to go on a shooting rampage, but if I can’t turn off the ability to read minds when I’m with friends and loved ones, I don’t think I would take the offer at all.

Unless I had a job such as in law enforcement, where there is a clear and beneficial advantage for the benefit of others, I would not want to know what people think. It feels comfortable to take people on their word and not second guess what they mean. If you have to wonder about honesty with the people that surround you, you’re probably among the wrong crowd. For me, if someone makes an effort to speak their mind in a decent manner, it deserves attention and regardless of what they think, I appreciate their words.

=)

The Daily Prompt:
Full Disclosure
A mad scientist friend offers you a chip that would allow you to know what the people you’re talking to are thinking. The catch: you can’t turn it off. Do you accept the chip?

 

3 thoughts on “Unintended Words

    • I can imagine this suspect trying unsuccessfully not to think about all the other things he or she may be trying to hide only to realize their are being shown clearly to the mind reader. lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

