Trademarked as a Minion

Written by Margarita Morgan
July18, 2014

Personal trademarks are something people associate with an individual and many times a person may not even be aware of what they are. In my case, it was funny to find out the things that over the years people recognized me from. When I had long hair which was most of my adult life, I mostly wrangled that, at times three feet long mane, into a huge bun at the back of my head. I knew that it was my trademark look along with my glasses, but what I found surprising was that at work, people recognized me for the amount of bags I carried with me.

As a Bus Operator with MTA in the city of Los Angeles, we are required to have with us a few items. However, our job doesn’t lend itself for regular brakes no matter how well printed they are on out time sheets. We need to carry with us not just personal items, but lunches and many times basic tools. I liked to be prepared for everything and so I carried my work bag full and packed, my lunch bag and at times my sweater, jacket and scarf that I took to work that morning when it was really cold and before the day turned hot. When people looked for me they always mention my hair, glasses and the big bags I carried for references. It was the bags on my back that brought the ‘Aaah! Yes, she went that way”.

Now days, since I retired a year ago, I couldn’t tell you what my friends would recognize me from; I’m a hermit and usually shy away from gatherings. My acquaintances here in my little town, however, would tell you that my seven year old daughter is always by my side. I mention before that she is a very social person and wants me to be involved in all kinds of activities with her. For that reason, I get to be in the spotlight frequently, but even then when I remind people of my name, I have to say I am Caillen’s mom to where they bring out the “ah! Yes” expression of recognition that lets them know who I am. It is debatable whether she is around me because she wants my company or because she is secretly training me to be her most faithful and compliant minion, but everywhere I go, she is with me and I wouldn’t want it any other way.

I suppose that being recognized as someone’s minion is not so bad, after all, aren’t they so cute? In reality, I don’t know what other surprising things people may recognize me from. I’m not sure I want to know either. I’m happy to follow Caillen around and if I turn yellow, wear goggles and overalls is all fine with me, just don’t be surprised if you start to recognize my signature as “Ba Ba Ba Banana!”

=)

 

The Daily Prompt
Object Lesson
Sherlock Holmes had his pipe. Dorothy had her red shoes. Batman had his Batmobile. If we asked your friends what object they most immediately associate with you, what would they answer?

2 thoughts on “Trademarked as a Minion

  1. Thank you Andy! It’s not intrusive at all, I have a special place to celebrate such events and be most honored if you come by and join the fun.
    I’ve already added you as Brave Soul #4. I really appreciate the nomination and hope to live up to the expectations it entrails.
    Yiay, what a wonderful day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

