Updating My Life Queue

Written by Margarita Morgan
August 3, 2014

Not to be confused with an item on my bucket list, I also have a list of things that were important for me to do or learn but never got around to them because real life got in the way. One of such things for me was to learn different languages. It is true that learning courses are available in a variety of formats to accommodate most schedules, but saying that where there’s a will there is a way is not always as simple as it sounds. In my case, taking time to learn a new language would have interfered with the time I had reserved for my family and priorities being what they are, I opted to invest my time in my kids and put off my educational preferences for later. I know I made the right choices and the rewards I got in return speak for themselves. My older children are a source of pride and inspiration and they appreciate the time I spent with them. Now that I only care for my seven year old and I’m retired, I have some time to pursue some of the things I always wanted to do.

Recently I purchased a learning system to begin lessons in Japanese. I chose that language because I watch a lot of anime and I find it to be a much better experience to enjoy such programming in their original Japanese language. Most of the time, the translations into English are very good, but others, there is a loss of context due to the natural differences between idiomatic expressions and literal translations. I also have a fascination with epic historical fiction novels that concern Japan’s rich and ancient culture. Learning Japanese, for me is not just a way to realize some long awaited desire to educate myself further, but it satisfies a yearning to immerse my senses entirely in a different culture in the same way I did when first arriving to the US.

I suppose that if I had started learning other languages many years ago, I would have chosen something entirely different. French for starters and only because I used to watch a lot of French movies, I guess there is a pattern here, but regardless of the chosen language, communicating with other people from different cultural backgrounds has also appealed to me. Now that I can dedicate some time to do things I’ve always wanted to do, I’m happy to report that I’ve already started to learn a new language without compromising the time I devote to my youngest daughter. It gives me a great sense of satisfaction not to have to feel guilty for doing something I enjoy and it gives me an even greater sense of accomplishment to know that along with caring for my daughter, I can learn things that I thoroughly enjoy.

=)

Daily Prompt
Back of the Queue
Is there something you’ve always wanted to do, but never got around to starting (an activity, a hobby, or anything else, really)? Tell us about it — and tell us about what’s keeping you from doing it.

Other people writing on this topic:

6 thoughts on “Updating My Life Queue

  1. Japanese is a tough language and needs a lot of your time and dedication. I’ve also wanted to learn Japanese but because of time haven’t been able to do so.
    I’m really happy for you that you are finally pursuing your dreams without being able to compromise on anything. All the best.

    Like

    • I’m using the Pimsler method, It is a series of half hour lessons and they make it seem very accessible. I listen to them at least once a day while I do house work. I wish I’d thought of audio lessons before, they are very convenient.
      No writing yet, I started to learn Hiragana, but it gets very confusing. lol

      I could not tell you that you could start slowly at first because I know that many times our minds need to rest and filling up every minute of our schedule is draining and overwhelming, but there will come a time when you’ll have those extra minutes and you too will start doing things you always wanted to do.
      =)

      Like

      • I hope so, “start doing things you always wanted to do”.;)
        In the mean time learn but don’t forget to enjoy. Enjoying is the key to learning, what do you say. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    • First of all, thank you for visiting and reading my post, but please, don’t feel obligated to read everything I ping back because at times I do that a lot. Mostly I do it when I write about a prompt that was published long time ago. Lately, I found that I’m more comfortable writing in the afternoon so I’m choosing old prompts so let me know if the pingbacks get a little annoying. lol
      I am far from being done with Japanese. The program that I’m following is 90 lessons long and summer has proven difficult to keep up with my routine, but I can now say that i know basic tourist small talk. lol
      I love it, I like amine and jump with joy like a little girl when I can pick up a few phrases. =)

      Like

Leave a Reply

