Unleash The Silmarillion

Written by Margarita Morgan
August 17, 2014

the silmarillion

deviantart.com

In the back of my reading queue rests the Silmarillion, not because of a desire to postpone a difficult read, but because it is a book that deserves all my attention and an appetitive read from its predecessors, The Hobbit and The Lord of The Rings. With all the background information that The Silmarillion contains regarding J.R.R. Tolkien’s mythology of Middle Earth, it is not a book that you can read without first immersing yourself in the stories that mention the legends, lineage and historical background that The Silmarillion brings to light in greater detail than its much more popular companions.

My list of books to read is very long, due mostly in part to my tendency to grab more books than I can read, but revisiting Tolkien’s world requires a commitment of heart and soul, for those of us obsessive compulsive people that would drop their entire real life to live among this fantasy from beginning to end with out interruptions one more time.silmarillionbookcase So far as I can tell, my seven year old still needs me around and I can’t quite get her involved just yet. Although she is a fan of The Hobbit and let me make it clear, the book which she has listened to three times from beginning to end and not the movies, I wait for the time that she can join me and we can both read this fantastic journey.

My copy of The Silmarillion is tucked in among all the other books that are precious to me. Right in the back of a bookcase where not even dust would set upon its run down wrinkled and faded paperback cover. My book case and my collection of books are in storage due in part to space constrains, in part to the abundance of precious books I have; but no matter, I know it is there and as progress is made through my current list of books to read, I hope that my daughter grows up appreciating all the geeky references my family makes regarding Tolkien’s world of fantasy.

onedoeasnotsimplysilmarillion

chucklesnetwork.com

=)

Daily Prompt
Off the Shelf
Take a look at your bookcase. If you had enough free time, which book would be the first one you’d like to reread? Why?

3 thoughts on “Unleash The Silmarillion

Leave a Reply

