I Killed a Fairy Today

Dear Diary,
I killed a fairy today, Well, I don’t know, but it seemed a definite yes from looking at the way her limp body hung when her fairy friends lifted her to safety. Far away form me. Her companions had a somber demeanor that absolutely put a dagger in my heart. I didn’t mean it, I thought it was a bug and emptied the can of Raid on her as she flew towards me in the darkness of the night. Why is it that she did not move away when I started swatting at her?

I woke up to the shimmering light that was radiating in the hallway. It seemed to reflect from the living room and as I got closer I saw that it was coming from a bouquet of flowers I received yesterday from a secret admirer, can you believe that? A secret admirer! I was ecstatic, it’s never happened before and I even thought I knew who had sent them. Anyway, when I woke up I thought that the flowers came with their own fireflies. What an awesome idea I thought, and was immediately enamored even more with my secret admirer. The arrangement looked so beautiful and the tiny sparkling lights created a white halo that extended from the flowers illuminating a great part of the living room.

For a moment I was suspended in awe, a little transfixed by this surreal vision that made me doubt I was awake. Over the dinning table, where the flower vase rested, it seemed like little fireflies hovered around the flowers creating a slow vortex of shimmering air, as if there was pixie dust floating in a circling motion and shooting out an infinite number of rays of light in all directions, but that moment of awe only lasted a second and then, my mind began to reel with conflicting thoughts that ranged between thinking that I was dreaming, and believing that I was being attacked by supernatural evil forces. My survival instinct kicked in. I panicked.

I ran towards the bathroom right behind me. At that moment I thought I heard my name being called out from many places all at once, but now I know that I heard it in my mind. Weird, but not as weird as trying to figure out if I was going though the same thing that alien abductees talk about. I also wanted to know if the fireflies I saw were evil, radioactive bugs trying to contaminate my body and give me radiation poisoning.

It is funny the things that go through your mind when in the middle of a stressful situation. In a split second, I even thought that I was the target of a conspiracy theory in which the government was making me go crazy testing a new device that allow them to put visions in my mind. The whole episode seems ridiculous now. I am embarrassed and feel so mortified for the part I played in hurting and killing one of my guardians. . . Oh, yes, I forgot to tell you, I’m supposed to be a Fairy Maiden, not just one of the many there are, but THE Fairy Maiden that will inherit the guardianship of The Kingdom of Light. . . I know, right? But wait, there’s more.

Fairies are beautiful tiny creatures with long, slender bodies that appear to be delicate and vulnerable. Their wings are translucent and span the length of their bodies shimmering when they fly emitting a bluish white light. They seem fragile, but I found out that their magic makes them an uncanny adversary, that is except in my case, when they wouldn’t dare to retaliate against their future Commander.

I was hearing them call my name as they flew in my direction. I couldn’t make out what they said because it didn’t make sense in my mind. Also, I wasn’t about to accept that I was either going crazy or that I was in the middle of a live fantasy dream. I ran towards the bathroom and they followed. I was hysterical and at this time started screaming when I took a can of Raid from under the sink and began spraying relentlessly at the one and only brave fairy who kept trying to calm me down. I can see it now; it all plays slowly in my mind over and over as if to torture me for committing a most hideous crime, I killed a fairy today.

I am recovering now, lying in my bed after being purged from the poison that was inhaled when I received the flowers that evening, they were meant to kill me.

I don’t know what hurts more, the idea that someone tried to kill me for what seems like no reason to me, or that indeed, there was no secret admirer after all. On top of guilty I feel stupid. My flowers are dead, all dried up they crumbled after the remaining fairies neutralized the poison.

A splitting headache aggravates my anxiety. I don’t know what is happening yet, but I want no part of this ridiculous story that is forcing its way into my reality. I will listen, however reluctantly to what the future has in store for me. I owe it to my protectors and saviors because they insist and also because. . . I killed a fairy today.

=)

 

Written by Margarita Morgan

October 19, 2014

 

Daily Prompt
Secret Admirers
You return home to discover a huge flower bouquet waiting for you, no card attached. Who is it from — and why did they send it to you?

Daily Prompt
From the Top
Today, write about any topic you feel like — but you must reuse your opening line (at least) two more times in the course of your post.

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “I Killed a Fairy Today

  1. Great story, I liked how it seemed kind of dark in the beginning.
    Just a tip: You could have separated the story in 3 parts and developed more some of it like: the lights, the fairies and the poison. But I really enjoyed!

    Like

    • Hey, thank you for the tip. When I wrote I was just trying my hand at getting stories or of my head and in writing. When I go back to that story to develop further, I will definitely look at your suggestions. I’m so glad you enjoyed it. =)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

