Dubstep Writing

 

Lately, I have been writing my stories with Dubstep music in the background. At first I thought that the music would distract me because when I listen to it, every inch of my body seems to vibrate in elation, but for once, all the voices in my head quiet down and pay attention. It has turned out to be a great addition to my collection of wards against distractions, especially if I’m using headphones. I love the random techno chaos in its melodic dystopian tempo.
The name of most Dubstep artists escapes me all too often, but there is a marked uniqueness to the sound of some of them such as Nero, Skrillex, Daft Punk and the lovely Lindsey Stirling (Dubstep Pokémon). When their songs start, I run to see who is playing and I’m beginning to recognize them as if I was listening to their very own signature. Other artists however, I find repelling. It makes me think that they added the dubstep sound effects to their discordant melodies. Don’t get me wrong, their songs may be melodious but not very synchronistic with the Dubstep feel I get with the other artists and so I find them intrusive and at times obnoxious.
Not being an expert in the genre, I couldn’t tell you if their sound conforms to Dubstep standards, but my ears, greenhorn as they are in this territory, have made that distinction clear for me. Surprisingly, writing and Dubstep music are a great combination for me. Am I the only one with these quirky mixtures that help concentration?

 

=)

2 thoughts on “Dubstep Writing

Leave a Reply

