See What I Mean?

dogrosepetals

Regarding those rose petals we talked about the other day, I was walking with my dog down the beautiful park I was telling you about and found I could not, for the life of me, look away from those equally enticing, equally disgusting rose petals all over the dirt. Don’t get me wrong, rose petals are the last thing you would associate with repulsion, but let me tell you, once a mental image has taken residence in your psyche, it is very hard to retrain you thoughts. In my facebook page, we were discussing all the good things we could find about cooking with rose petals when my cousing commented that I should use the smelliest petals I could find in order to bring the fragrnce of rose essence to my meal. If you read “Rosalicious and Other Adventures“,  you would understand how much I laughed at her suggestion. Since then, I cannot look at a rose bush without picturing a line of doggies taking turns helping the rose bushes acquire that special essence that haunts my mind.

Mustering the courage to pick rose petals from the park is still a daunting adventure. What the heck am I going to say if I get caught cutting those beautiful flowers, which, in my opinion, should be a crime? I could never do that. Those flowers are so magestic and elegant, and they happen to be abundant at the park. I take so much pride in the way the community cares for our public areas, so that idea is a definite no. However, picking up petals from the ground . . . well, like I said, I need lots of courage for that. Mostly though, I think I’m just embarrassed to be seen searching around through the rose bushes. But! If you want to come with me, you could be my lookout and we can have ourselves a make-your-own-ice-cream party afterward, yes? . . . on second thought, let’s not. I don’t want to share.

=)

 

2 thoughts on “See What I Mean?

  1. To “unform” every image that had been formed in our hearts is not always easy. rose is a good flower, but one shouldn’t be guilty of what he/she hasn’t done wrong. I love your blog, you are not a novice, but that kind of humility is good for growth. Best wishes!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

