Quick Pingbacks

When you participate in a challenge or a daily prompt, you are asked to include a pingback. For the longest time I wondered how it was that some people managed to pingback dozens of other posts in a quick and effective manner. I tired doing so a link at a time, but it is not very efficient.

Finally, after trial and error, here’s how I managed to pingback 90+ links in about five minutes.

As an example, I’ll use The Daily Prompt for today.
When you arrive at that page, you see the links to all the other people that have participated in this prompt.
1. Highlight all the links you want to pingback. (I did the entire set of links, but I suggest you start with a few until you get the hang of it.)

2. Right click and copy.
3. Paste at the end of your own post. (Either when you finish your post or when you use the edit feature.)

4. Highlight the first link.
5. Press the “insert/edit link” button on the tool section of your edit page.

The link you just highlighted shows up automatically in the window and you just have to press the blue button that says “add a link” or “update”

6. Repeat with the next link.

I hope you find these steps easy to understand.

However, an even easier way of doing this is by following these steps from thoughtfeeder:

“I’ll tell you a simpler way, just go to the daily prompt for the day, select all the responses by dragging your mouse with the right button continuously clicked and press ctrl+c. Then go to the end of your post and press ctrl+v. Done! 🙂” (I used the left button, better if you just highlight all the responses however you can.)

Pingbacks are a great tool to promote fellow bloggers as well as your own posts. I wouldn’t suggest you fill every one of your posts with dozens of pingback, but from time to time it spices up traffic to your blog and also, when you follow the links, you find many hidden jewels you might have missed otherwise.

=)

 

 

11 thoughts on “Quick Pingbacks

  1. I was pretty unsure as to how to do pingbacks for awhile. I was still confused when I just started posting the links and hoping that was how it worked. Is that how it does it? lol

    Like

    • It took me a while to figure it out. As for the pingback to the daily prompt, I do it just as it is described in their link, but to do dozens, I had to find a way to reciprocate to those that pingback to my post.
      =)

      Like

  2. I’ll tell you a simpler way, just go to the daily prompt for the day, select all the responses by dragging your mouse with the right button continuously clicked and press ctrl+c. Then go to the end of your post and press ctrl+v. Done! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment